Westhill District Stonehaven Banchory Upper Deeside SAS
Home   > Structure


SAS is a composite team consisting of the four competitive swimming clubs in South Aberdeenshire:
  • Banchory Beavers
  • Stonehaven
  • Upper Deeside
  • Westhill District.

These 4 clubs, along with Garioch, formed the team in 1997 in order to provide the opportunity for those swimmers whose ambition and ability reached higher than the individual clubs could provide for, and to enable them to take part in National Competitions as part of a sizeable team rather than the lonely trip as a few individuals.

In August 2010, South Aberdeenshire Swimming welcomed a new structure applicable across the 4 member clubs of the team. The structure enables the clubs to work together on the same level allowing the swimmers to set targets for progression through the South Aberdeenshire squads.

The SAS Resource Manual outlines the structure and progressive measures that are in place to help all swimmers fulfil their goals.

There are 5 levels to the structure:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Top Squad

SAS Squad Icons
SAS Squad Icons